Classification Of Crops Based On Life Cycle

Classification Of Crops Based On Life Cycle

Herbaceous plants: These types of crops grow from seeds, grow for a season, and then die. This type of crop includes barley, lettuce, and tomatoes.

Woody Plants: Unlike herbaceous plants, this type of plant lives for several years and has visible wood on the inside. Some examples include apple trees and elm trees.

Perennial Plants: This type of plant lives longer than two years but can be either herbaceous or woody. Examples include asparagus or carrots.

Annual Plant: This is a plant that completes its life cycle within one growing season before it dies off until the next year’s growing season begins again. Examples include corn or wheat

Annual Crops

Annual crops are those crops that complete their life cycle within one year. Annual vegetation is also known as ‘annuals’. These plants complete their life cycle in a single growing season and die after producing seeds or fruits. The growth of annual crops is dependent on the length of the growing season, i.e., how many days it takes for a plant to mature completely and bear fruit or seed.

Annuals are planted every year because they require more labor than perennials but do not yield as much as perennials over time due to higher competition for sunlight and other resources from other plants in its environment. Annuals need good rainfall during most parts of their development cycle so that they can grow properly; otherwise they will die before producing seeds or fruits at all

Biennial Crops

Biennial crops are those that take two years to complete their life cycle. They begin their growth in the first year, flower during the second, and reproduce after they die. Biennial crops are different from annuals in that they don’t grow from seed until the second year of growth. They also have a much longer growing period—around 120 days longer than annuals on average.

ALSO READ:  Cleaning Fruit With Baking Soda And Vinegar

Here’s an example: A potato plant needs about 120 days of time to produce potatoes after it sprouts from its seeds, which means you have to wait 150 days before harvesting any fruits from your plants (if you start with seedlings).

Perennial Crops

Perennial crops are those that live more than two years. They can be divided into two types, woody and herbaceous. Woody perennial crops include trees, shrubs, vines and hedges, while herbaceous perennial crops include vegetables and flowers.

Perennial plants can be grown in the same place for more than two years without the need for replanting or reseeding each year. This is because these plants grow roots that will regenerate from the crown of their stem after each harvest cycle has ended; hence they don’t need to be re-planted every season like annuals do (because annuals die at the end of every growing season).

Semi-Perennial Crops

Semi-Perennial Crops are the crops which grow for more than 2 years, but less than 5 years.

Examples of Semi-Perennial Crops are:

  • Sorghum
  • Oats
  • Alfalfa
  • Fava Beans

Triennial Crops

Triennial crops are those that grow for three years before they are harvested. They are usually grown as a cover crop that is plowed under to return nutrients to the soil. These crops can be planted in the fall or early spring, depending on your area’s frost dates. Triennial crops are typically grown in the winter months so you should have some experience with growing vegetables if you decide to try your hand at this type of farming.

ALSO READ:  How Much Does A Head Of Romaine Lettuce Weigh

Classification Of Crops Based On Life Cycle

It is vital to know the classification of crops based on their life cycle.

There are various types of crop depending on their life cycle.

The following are the major types:

  • Annual Crops – These plants complete their life cycle in one year.
  • Biennial Crops – These plants complete their life cycle in two years but only flower and produce seeds in their second year after germination, flowering, setting seed and dying back completely from June onwards (thus completing a biennial cycle). Some examples of these plants are onion, leek etc which can be harvested after two years from germination time when they have attained maturity level as desired by farmers/growers who cultivate them deliberately as annual/biennial crops depending on market conditions prevailing during time period involved with such cultivation activities undertaken by farmers/growers associated with them respectively before harvesting them for purposes involving selling same commodities under consideration being marketed via networks such as supermarkets or channels similar thereto upon completion thereof without fail at farm-gate prices prevailing thereat throughout country

For the crops, it is important to know whether they are annual or perennial as they have a different life cycle. The procedure for cultivation of these crops is also different and hence it is important that we have an idea about the life cycle of these crops. Corn, cotton and wheat come under annuals whereas barley, oilseed rape, and sugar cane come under biennials. Perennial crops include coconut, grapes, olive tree etc.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *